In 1997, Ponteland Town Council began to make awards to individuals in the parish area who they felt went ‘the extra mile’ for the community.  Since then awards have been made to a wide range of individuals such as scout and guide leaders, former police officers, organisers of community events, work with local organisations etc.

The awards are made at the Annual Meeting of Town Electors held in April each year.  Recipients are presented with an engraved gift by the Mayor.

Some 22 awards have been made since the inception of the scheme in 1997. Sadly 2020 has been the only year no award has been made due to the Covid-19 crisis when the Annual Town Meeting could not be held.  However, the selected recipient will receive the award in 2021